The Overland Diaries pt.XIX – modes of seeing

If you’ve been following some of my other posts you may have noticed that I’ve recently acquired a new toy, a lovely new Ricoh GR.

The reasoning behind the purchase (other than basic gear-lust) was a desire to simplify – I’ve developed my Micro Four Thirds kit to a point of maturity; the EM5 is all the camera I need and I’ve got about as good a collection of primes as one could hope for, but I had begun to feel as if the gear was getting in the way of the photos. More and more I’ve gravitated towards a documentary style of shooting, but in a way I feel like the gear I’ve been using, and the myriad possibilities it presents, has been dictating the way I shoot. In response to this, I see the GR as a high-quality, no bullshit tool for simply capturing what I see.

I’ve banned myself from buying anymore bodies/lenses over the next 12 months, and I’ll be shooting solely with the GR as much as I can, hopefully pushing the limits of both my creativity and GR’s capturing potential.

I’m hoping that bushwalking will be a big part of those 12 months, and here’s the first taste – a riduculously hot and sunny Overland (36degC on day 5…)

Barn Bluff

Everlastings

Flowering pandani

Alpine Sundew

Oakleigh, Pillinger and Dean Bluff

Light and shadow amongst the Alpine Ash

Anyone know what these are? Pelion Plains

Channeling Fred Smithies on the Pelion East ascent

The final climb

Eucalyptus Delegatensis reach for the light

Making our way through the Upper Mersey Valley

Star-trails over Castle Crag

The first Leatherwood blooms for the season

Rainforest

Shadows at Du Cane Hut

Early dawn from The Gatepost, after a late night climb by headtorch and open-air bivvy on the summit

The Narcissus River rests as the weather begins to change

Waddayareckon?

