Western Australia – Eagle Gorge

Eagle Gorge, near Kalbarri on Western Australia’s mid-west coast, would have to be on of my favourite spots. It’s a little place – a small opening in the 400 million year old red sandstone sea-cliffs where a tiny, dry creek cuts through the rock to a beautiful white beach. There’s a reef-break in the northern corner of the beach – small but powerful as swell crashes into an abrupt and shallow ledge, before barrelling right along almost dry rock. It’s a hard landscape, reminding me strongly of Frank Herbert’s mythical desert-planet Arrakis, although the late evening light softens it somewhat. It’s also very, very hot – over 40deg C when we arrived mid-afternoon.

Taken with a GH2, Voigtlander Nokton 25mm and Lumix G 7-14mm. The two shots captioned used the Fotodiox WonderPana 145 ultra-wide filter holder with a 5-stop Fotodiox ND, which I wrote about here https://peopleandotherstrangecreatures.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/fotodiox-wonderpana-145-filter-holder-for-the-lumix-g-7-14mm/ I’ll write up a full-review after a bit more use…

Fotodiox WonderPana 145

Fotodiox WonderPana 145

6 thoughts on “Western Australia – Eagle Gorge

  1. You photos are beautiful and were inspirational for me to buy the panasonic 7-14mm vs the Olympus 9-18mm for my upcoming treks in NZ and Patagonia. I’m still very much an amatuer and was wondering about the Wonderpana 145mm system? Am I right in thinking the 66 is not suitable? Did you buy the full 145mm kit for around $480 or just the adaptor? I was thinking I wouldn’t mind a filter (81?) for sunsets as well…. Any recommendations would be GREATLY appreciated.

    • Hi Emily, I bought the 145 holder and ND-32 (5-stop) filter. It’s great if you specifically want to do long-exposures with the 7-14mm, but it’s not cheap and is big and a bit clumsy to use.

      If you don’t have much experience with filters I’d probably recommend learning the ropes with the (much) cheaper filters available for your normal lenses (and thus normal thread size).

      No, the 66 system is not suitable for the Lumix 7-14mm.

  2. My ears (eyes?) pricked up when I saw this blog entry, because I’ve also got great memories of our time spent exploring the trails and gorges along that section of the WA coastline a couple of years ago. The geology is just amazing, and made for some awesome photos! Just wished that wind would die down for a bit… 🙂

    If you’re interested, I wrote up some notes on the Bigurda Trail here: http://strikis.smugmug.com/Hiking/Western-Australia/Bigurda-Trail/17277049_CRstwn

    Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Fotodiox WonderPana 145 filter-holder for the Lumix G 7-14mm | people + other strange creatures

Waddayareckon?

