Fotodiox WonderPana 145 filter-holder for the Lumix G 7-14mm

For quite a while now, I’ve been looking for a solution that would allow me to use filters on my Lumix G 7-14mm f4. I absolutely love this lens but as I mainly use it for landscape work, especially moving water landscape work, the lack of a filter thread has always been problematic. Diffraction is very noticeable past f11, and with a minimum 160iso on my GH2 that means slow shutter-speeds in anything close to daylight are impossible…

I finally found a system that seems to tick the boxes and it arrived the other day. The WonderPana 145 system from Fotodiox takes screw-in, circular, 145mm filters. I’m not sure how many (if any) manufactures other that Fotodiox make this size, but they have a CPL and several ND options available so I don’t really care either way. You can also attach a WonderPana 66 holder which takes standard 6×6″ filters (I was actually sent this by mistake, see below…).

This product is very new and as such I bought it without any solid user reviews to fall back on. I’m heading to Western Australia tomorrow where I hope to do some solid field testing, which I’ll report on with a full review, but for the moment here some product pics – this thing is BIG! Ah well, the price you pay to cover a 7mm MFT lens…

**UPDATE** I’ve now posted a few shots taken with this setup here – https://peopleandotherstrangecreatures.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/western-australia-eagle-gorge/

My Lumix 7-14mm with the three packages.

The filter-holder (note tabs that nestle against the lens hood and stop it rotating), 145mm 5-stop ND filter, and coupling.

Here’s how it all comes together – the coupling slides over the base of the lens and then screws onto the filter-holder. It fits snugly but the design doesn’t allow the coupling to be removed if the lens is attached to the camera.

The whole thing mounted to my GH2 – its rather large.

From behind – did I mention it’s big?

With the 6×6″ holder attached – it is screw-mounted to the 145 filter holder and I don’t see how this would allow it to rotate if used with ND grads..?

The sky at 7mm and f4 – no vignetting.

7 thoughts on “Fotodiox WonderPana 145 filter-holder for the Lumix G 7-14mm

  1. Pingback: News Shooter | Olympus announce development of a 7-14mm f2.8 lens for Micro 4/3

  2. Pingback: Western Australia – Eagle Gorge | people + other strange creatures

Waddayareckon?

