The travelling kit

Would you spend 4-6 months backpacking around with nothing but primes? Well, I’ve got 6 months to decide if that’s going to be the way for me…

I’ve been shooting with the GH2 and Nokton 25mm for about 18 months now, and enjoyed (almost) every minute of it! I’ve especially liked the enforced discipline of a fixed focal length. That said, I’ve always had the convenience of zooms to fall back on – primarily the Lumix 7-14mm and m.ZD 40-150mm.

With the recent arrivals of the Nokton 17.5mm and m.ZD 75mm, I’ve developed a classic three-prime kit that will, I hope, be enough for next year’s overseas adventures. The kit won’t cover every eventuality in the way a similar three-zoom kit would, but hopefully they’ll allow me to capture the world the way I see it, which to me is far more important.

GH2 + Nokton 17.5mm + Nokton 25mm + m.ZD 17.5mm

2 thoughts on “The travelling kit

  1. Hi Mike. Yep they are at the larger end for Micro Four Thirds primes (the 17.5mm is large for any system) but the three fit in a Domke F10 with my GH2, which is a size I’m happy carrying. Time will tell!

Waddayareckon?

